Nikola Tesla and the Pigeon Love Story

This is the last Superheroes of Science post! Technically it ended yesterday, I know, but I had to take a pause for Margo’s cool blogfests. I’m glad you all love the Balloon Epicness so much.

Now, coincidences! The last post from a participant* is on the same scientist than mine! You should all click to read Sommer’s list of Five Nikola Tesla Weirdo Facts. They’re hilarious (so are the comments), and I’m about to add a sixth!

*If I haven’t linked to your post through the week, you should absolutely poke me. I’ve tried to catch everyone as they went up.

***

Among a lot of other things, Nikola Tesla is the inventor of alternative current and the first to prove wireless communication was possible. He lived at about the same time as Edison and was in constant competition with him, which sucks big time because as far as Ethics go, Edison isn’t a star student. Anyway. This is Science Love week, not Unethical Scientist Bashing Week. So, moving on!

Tesla never had a lot of money, but he sure had a lot of drive. He did what he wanted, whether that was wild experiences with electricity or being scared of round things (okay, Sommer, I promise I’m not stealing the rest of your thunder!)

He also loved pigeons.
FlautistaHe always opened his hotel room’s windows to let them in, and he fed them. He set up small beds in his room for them, and would draw the attention of so many that they often threw him out after pigeon excrements had defaced the outside walls around his room. When he lived in New York, he’d walked to Central Park every day to feed the pigeons. The money problems didn’t matter. Nikola Tesla fed the pigeons.

Then came the one

His loved for pigeons focused upon a single creature. It was no longer a ‘pigeons deserve to be fed and loved’. It was soul-crushing, all-encompassing love.

Don’t believe me? Here are his words on the subject…

“Yes, I loved that pigeon, I loved her as a man loves a woman, and she loved me.”

He had a strong, unbreakable link with that pigeon and was convinced they communicated. One day she flew in his hotel room, and he knew. She was going to die.

“When that pigeon died, something went out of my life. Up to that time I knew a certainty that I would complete my work, no matter how ambitious my program, but when that something went out of my life, I knew my life’s work was finished.”

I feel for him. I’m not much of an electricity girl, but I can say that I share this with Nikola Tesla. I love a Pigeon, and feed him when he comes to my house. No, no need to call the asylum. It’s my boyfriend’s last name. :D

***

That’s it! Keep an eye on the blog next week to know which of you awesome guys won Forgotten Gods! Have a great weekend.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Juan Ignacio Garay

14 Comments on “Nikola Tesla and the Pigeon Love Story”

  1. Pawan kumar says:

    From whom tesla was inspired to do all the things

  2. Notracks says:

    Someday, I want to find a pigeon worthy to love. Then, I will be a super scientist.
    Tesla in reverse.

  3. […] But I wouldn’t even say they’re just for middleschoolers. I read all the way through the story of Telsa: It brings to life the epic battle between himself and Thomas Edison over alternating current (AC) and direct current. I guess I never realized that the “War of the Currents” ended when Tesla successfully used AC to light the infamous World’s Fair in Chicago (where the Ferris Wheel also made its debut). Via the comic, I also discovered that Tesla had a fondness (perhaps a little too much fondness) for pigeons. […]

  4. tammy says:

    nikola you went through the rabbit hole but i suspect you will be coming back

  5. [...] to a go-to source for election coverage makes one think, for all Peretti’s talk of a man loving a pigeon, there’s a Sun Tzu-worthy business plan in [...]

  6. Jenifer says:

    Love comes in many forms. I’m glad he shared about his love for the pigeon, I for one find it very touching.

  7. Jenifer says:

    Love comes in many forms and I’m glad he told about his love for the pigeon, I for one find it very touching.

  8. Oh boy. Learning about Tesla has been an exercise in the truth being stranger than fiction. This man brings stereotypes of the eccentric scientist to an all-new level.

  9. It’s ok :-) You can steal away. There’s plenty of Tesla to go around. The man was a lunatic with cool inventions! One lab explosion away from a supervillain.

  10. L.G. Smith says:

    What an odd man. Does genius always have to come with a side of crazy?

    Laughed when you said you love a Pigeon. :D


Add your own reactive to the experience!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers